The Launceston Post Office is in the centre of the Tasmanian city of Launceston, and is one of four Heritage Property Showcase buildings of Australia Post for 2012. It was designed by architect William W. Eldridge (1850-1933) in 1885 with some alterations made by architects Lesley Gordon Corrie (1859-1918) and Alexander North (1858-1945) in 1890, the year the building opened. The round clock tower was designed by Corrie and North with Baroque additions by Hedley Westbrook (1868-1950). It was completed in 1910. The red brick and freestone Post Office is in the Federation Queen Anne style, and incorporating elements of Free Romanesque. Romanesque elements include the semi-circular doorway and windows, including the central window of the oriel windows (photograph 3), and the semi-circular freestone detail between the square windows on the ground level.
For the entrance see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1237
For the interior see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1252
For the Australian Heritage Database entry on the building see http://www.environment.gov.au/cgi-bin/ahdb/search.pl?mode=place_detail;search=place_name%3Dlaunceston%2520post%2520office%3Btown%3Dlaunceston%3Bstate%3DTAS%3Bkeyword_PD%3Don%3Bkeyword_SS%3Don%3Bkeyword_PH%3Don%3Blatitude_1dir%3DS%3Blongitude_1dir%3DE%3Blongitude_2dir%3DE%3Blatitude_2dir%3DS%3Bin_region%3Dpart;place_id=105210