Launceston Post Office entrance, Launceston, Tasmania
The Launceston Post Office is in the centre of the Tasmanian city of Launceston, and is one of four Heritage Property Showcase buildings of Australia Post for 2012. It was designed by architect William W. Eldridge (1850-1933) in 1885 with some alterations made by architects Lesley Gordon Corrie (1859-1918) and Alexander North (1858-1945) in 1890, the year the building opened. The Post Office is in the Federation Queen Anne style, and incorporating elements of Free Romanesque and the Arts and Crafts Movement. The Romanesque elements of the building are in evidence on its semi-circular arched entrance doorway. The arch is supported by two shaped columns and the alternating bands of red brick and light-coloured stone (particularly apparent on the photograph of the inside entrance doorway) is reminiscent of Byzantine buildings. Immediately above the arch are bas-relief in the Arts and Crafts style of Australian foliage and two shields displaying the Union Jack. The second storey above the entrance has two windows with semi-circular arched windows supported by columns with capitals. Above this is an oval window attic window with lead lighting.
For more of the exterior see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1242
For the interior see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1252
For the Australian Heritage Database entry on the building see http://www.environment.gov.au/cgi-bin/ahdb/search.pl?mode=place_detail;search=place_name%3Dlaunceston%2520post%2520office%3Btown%3Dlaunceston%3Bstate%3DTAS%3Bkeyword_PD%3Don%3Bkeyword_SS%3Don%3Bkeyword_PH%3Don%3Blatitude_1dir%3DS%3Blongitude_1dir%3DE%3Blongitude_2dir%3DE%3Blatitude_2dir%3DS%3Bin_region%3Dpart;place_id=105210