The foundation stone for the Convict Church at the former penal settlement of Port Arthur, Tasmania, was laid by Lieutenant Governor George Arthur (1784-1854) in 1836. The church was possibly designed by the Deputy Commissariat Officer Thomas Lempiere (1796-1852) and convict architect Henry Laing (1803-1842). It was built with convict labour. The church opened in 1837 and was never consecrated as it was used by different denominations during the compulsory Sunday services. It could accommodate one thousand people. The former steeple on top of the tower blew down in 1876, and the church was gutted by fire in 1884. Since then it has been a picturesque ruin, similar to many actual medieval churches in Europe. The church is in the Gothic Revival style and features a prominent tower with crenellation, pointed arch doorways, lancet windows, and corner spires.
For the rest of the church see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1134