The foundation stone for the Convict Church at the former penal settlement of Port Arthur, Tasmania, was laid by Lieutenant Governor George Arthur (1784-1854) in 1836. The church was possibly designed by the Deputy Commissariat Officer Thomas Lempiere (1796-1852) and convict architect Henry Laing (1803-1842). It was built with convict labour, with some of the decorative stonework and pews done by the boys at the nearby Point Puer Juvenile Establishment. The church opened in 1837 and was never consecrated as it was used by different denominations for the compulsory Sunday services. It could accommodate one thousand people. The former steeple on top of the tower blew down in 1876, and the church was gutted by fire in 1884. Since then it has been a picturesque ruin, similar to many actual medieval churches in Europe. The church is in the Gothic Revival style, with a tower with crenellation, pointed arch windows and doorways, lancet windows, and numerous spires.
For the church tower see http://ausmed.arts.uwa.edu.au/items/show/1136